Skill Roll: Spells are purchased with the standard skill roll.

Spells may be purchased in real points or using a multipower systems as outlined below:

Characters may elect to set aside points with no limitations as a multipower reserve. They may then purchase slots within that reserve as spells. (note, for any spell with a real cost of 15 or less, the cost will be one point). Spells that consist of more than one power are considered one spell and may be purchased in the one slot.

Characters may not have more spells active than their INT/5 (or EGO/5 for Ego based magic). Character may purchase additional INT or EGO with a 1 limitation: Only to increase number of active spells. Spells that consist of more than one power are considered one spell.

Character may not have an spell with an active point total higher than 3 X INT (what do you think about making this 2 X INT ) (or 3 X Ego) in the multipower. Characters can purchase additional INT or EGO with a 1 limitation: Only to increase active cost in multipower.

Characters can purchase additional INT or EGO with a 1/2 limitation: Only to increase active spells and active cost in multipower to get both areas increased.

Spells which have an active point total higher than the multipower reserve can be created by purchasing the extra points outside the multipower and combining them with the active slot. Active point total limitations outlined above only count towards the points in the mulitpower, not any point purchased outside the multipower.

Guidelines

Players may create spells within their collage, however, all spells must be approved by the GM. Exceptions to the following rules are allowed with GM approval based on conception of the spell, power level of the spell and cost of the spell.

Active Points non-Combat: 50 (with exceptions by GM)
Max Damage Classes: 8 (40 active points)
Max Def: 8/8

Spells must have limitations of at least 1 , including Skill Roll. Spells must have Incantations and Gestures, or Obvious Accessible Focus. Spells must cost end. If the power does not normally cost end, that limitation must be taken. (exceptions below)

Triggers do not count against spell limit.

Exceptions:
Special defensive spells are treated more like abilities and (like the mental defense for a Paladin) are purchased with real points only, and may not be placed into a multipower. These spells do not count against the active spell limits of a character, may have less than 1 in limitations, and may be persistent. GM approval required to make such a spell